Thinking about becoming a DJ - Advice?
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements

Old 07-22-2014, 04:31 AM   #1
Noizemaker
Minor Glitch
Noizemaker is a jewel in the roughNoizemaker is a jewel in the roughNoizemaker is a jewel in the rough
MC Status: 260
Thinking about becoming a DJ - Advice?

I've been producing edm/dubstep for a little over a year now, and since I'm taking a semester off from school, I think it might be a fun hobby to become a DJ and maybe I can even promote my own tunes a little. I have also been a musician playing in bands for about 8 years now, so I have plenty of musical performance experience.

What I don't know, is how the scene works, the standards as far as equipment, technique, etc. I would like to incorporate some elements of live performance into my sets when possible, via midi drum pads, guitar, etc. I just don't know what the norm is, as far as this stuff goes.
So, if any of you guys DJ, what do you use and how do you do it?
Thanks.

Advertisements

Noizemaker is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 11:43 PM   #2
Marcus Quarter
Minor Glitch
Marcus Quarter will become famous soon enough
Vienna
MC Status: 60
Re: Thinking about becoming a DJ - Advice?

hey ho

im djing for about 5 or 6 years now.

The best advice i can give you is:
JUST DIVE INTO IT!

I was in a club and listened to this dj and the next day i said: i want to become a dj
I bought my DJ set up and just started to learn by myself without any tutorials...
Finding your own djing style will be a point of setting yourself apart from other djs.
You can start with vinyl (oldschool, and everyone will love you and think you are COOL), or with CD Players. I would seriously not start with traktor or any visual djing programm.
It fucks up your way of learning to dj. You will be always attracted to the visual waveform and not the audio.
Try to learn it by ear not by your eyes!

Now to your questions:

The scene: